Become a member

We’re currently looking for likeminded riders to join Paceline RT. If you’re enthusiastic about racing and are excited to be part of a new set-up that aims to give back to the sport of cycling, we’d like to hear from you.

Learn More

Redhill Sporting 18 Report

Posted on Feb 16, 2015

Redhill 18 - Gareth - Ade Webb

Gareth Thomas in his trademark ‘Thomas Tuck’. Photo Ade Webb

Following last weeks wins at Kingston Wheelers Sporting 14, Paceline continued with more success in all the mens categories at the 70th anniversary of the Redhill Sporting 18 Sunday 15th February, sponsored by Evans cycles.

Rob Sharland took 2nd in the time-trial category with 42:36 on the altered 18.7 mile GS/478 course, trailing overall winner Chris McNamara (Pedal Heaven) by 20 seconds. Keith Lea finished 7th overall with a time of 43:36, which saw him finish 2nd in the vet standard.

However it was a whitewash in the road bike category with a Paceline 1-2-3; Dom Clegg winning with an impressive time of 46:25, and Pat Wright close behind in 2nd with a time of 46:34, and Gareth Thomas in joint third with 47:07.

Redhill 18 - Dom - Ade Webb

Dom Clegg on his way to winning the road bike category.

Redhill 18 - Rob - Ade Webb

Rob Sharland followed up his win in last week’s Kingston Wheeler Sporting 14 with 2nd place.


Paceline riders Gareth Thomas, Rob Sharland, Dom Clegg and Pat Wright with Redhill organiser Maurice Brennan.


Scratch – Men Winners
1st Chris Mcnamara – 00:42:16
2nd Rob Sharland – 00:42:36
3rd John Dewey – 00:42:44
4th Tejvan Pettinger – 00:42:52
5th Jamie Pine – 00:43:07
6th Liam Maybank – 00:43:12
Road Bike – Men
1st Dom Clegg – 00:46:25
2nd Pat Wright – 00:46:34
3rd Gareth Thomas – 00:47:07
3rd Chris Herbert – 00:47:07
Vet Standard
1st Liam Maybank – 00:43:12
2nd Keith Lea – 00:43:36
3rd Pete Tadros – 00:44:13
Overall Paceline results
2nd Rob Sharland – 00:42:36
7th Keith Lea 00:43:36
15th Dom Clegg 00:46:25 (road)
16th Pat Wright 00:46:34 (road)
17th Phil Ember 00:46:36
21st Ben Elliott 00:46:55
22nd Gareth Thomas 00:47:07 (road)
34th Ed Francis 00:49:10 (road)
40th Andy Lack 00:49:43 (road)
61st Tom Hampshire 00:52:14 (road)
68th Maurice Joseph 00:53:45